Principal Investigator

Prof. Insung S. Choi

Prof. Choi, a PhD in Chemistry and MS in Computer Science, is a chemistry-centered naturalist, utilizing chemical, biological, and computational tools for deciphering the cytosociety. After earning his BS degree with summa cum laude from SNU, he obtained his MS degree (with Prof. Eun Lee) at SNU and his PhD degree (with Prof. George M. Whitesides) at Harvard. He then conducted postdoctoral research (with Prof. Robert Langer) at MIT, before joining the faculty at KAIST in 2002.


Seok-Pyo Hong, M.S.

Organic Synthesis

Young Jae Jung, Ph.D.

Organic Synthesis


Jinwoo Lee

Natural Product Synthesis

Inae Han

Surface Chemistry

Hyunwoo Choi

In vitro Neuronal Network

Nayoung Kim

Cell-Surface Interaction

Sang Yeong Han

Surface Chemistry

Hyeong Bin Rheem

Surface Chemistry

Seoin Yang

Cell-Material Interaction

Jihoo Kim

Deep Learning

Ji Yoon Lee

Supramolecular Chemistry

Yoonho Jeong

Deep Learning

Su Yeon Rhee

Surface Chemistry

Duc Tai Nguyen

Biomaterials Chemistry


Postdoctoral Researchers and Research Professors
  1. Dr. Kuk-Ro Yoon, Professor, Department of Chemistry, Hannam University, Daejeon, Korea.
  2. Dr. Wan-Joong Kim, Researcher, KRISS, Daejeon, Korea.
  3. Dr. Young Hwan Jung, Professor, Korea Bio Polytechnic, Nonsan, Korea.
  4. Dr. Sungjin Park, Professor, Department of Chemistry and Physics, Inha University, Incheon, Korea.
  5. Dr. Sunghoon Joo, Researcher, Samsung SDS, Suwon, Korea.
  6. Dr. Gyeongwon Yun, Patent Examiner, Korean Intellectual Property Office (KIPO), Daejeon, Korea.

Ph.D. Students
  1. Dr. Kyung-Bok Lee, Researcher, KBSI, Daejeon, Korea.
  2. Dr. Dong Jin Kim, Researcher, HAESUNG DS, Changwon, Korea.
  3. Dr. Joon Sung Lee, Professor, Department of Applied Physics, Korea University, Sejong, Korea.
  4. Dr. Young Shik Chi, Researcher, Samsung Electro-Mechanics, Suwon, Korea.
  5. Dr. Woo Kyung Cho, Professor, Department of Chemistry, Chungnam National University, Daejeon, Korea.
  6. Dr. Bong Soo Lee, Researcher, S&G Biotech, Inc., Yongin, Korea.
  7. Dr. Hyung Ju Park, Researcher, ETRI, Daejeon, Korea.
  8. Dr. Bokyung Kong, Researcher, Corning, Korea.
  9. Dr. Sung Min Kang, Professor, Department of Chemistry, Chungbuk National University, Chungbuk, Korea.
  10. Dr. Sung Ho Yang, Professor, Department of Chemistry Education, Korea National University of Education, Chungbuk, Korea.
  11. Dr. Kyungtae Kang, Professor, Department of Applied Chemistry, Kyung Hee University, Yongin, Korea.
  12. Dr. Daewha Hong, Professor, Pusan National University, Busan, Korea.
  13. Dr. Ji Hun Park, Professor, Ewha Womans University, Seoul, Korea.
  14. Dr. Juno Lee, Researcher, Agency for Defense Development, Daejeon, Korea.
  15. Dr. Eun Hyea Ko, Researcher, Samsung Electronics, Suwon, Korea.
  16. Dr. Beom Jin Kim, Professor, Department of Chemistry, University of Ulsan, Ulsan, Korea.
  17. Dr. Mi-Hee Kim, USA.
  18. Dr. Matthew Park, Researcher, Amgen, Inc., Los Angeles, USA.
  19. Dr. Taegyun Park, Researcher, Samsung Electronics, Suwon, Korea.
  20. Dr. Ji Yu Choi, Researcher, Samsung Electronics, Suwon, Korea.
  21. Dr. Hyunsuk Kim, Researcher, Agency for Defense Development, Daejeon, Korea.
  22. Dr. Ji Yup Kim, Researcher, Samsung Electronics, Suwon, Korea.
  23. Dr. Hojae Lee, Professor, Department of Chemistry, Hallym University, Chuncheon, Korea.
  24. Dr. Hee Chul Moon, Researcher, Samsung Electronics, Suwon, Korea.
  25. Dr. Hyeoncheol Cho, Researcher, Samsung SDS, Seoul, Korea.
  26. Dr. Jeongyeon Seo, Researcher, Samsung Electronics, Suwon, Korea.
  27. Dr. Wongu Youn, Researcher, Center for Cognition and Sociality, Institute for Basic Science, Daejeon, Korea.
  28. Dr. Sol Han, Researcher, Samsung Electronics, Suwon, Korea.
  29. Dr. Jungnam Kim, Researcher, SK Innovation, Daejeon, Korea.
  30. Dr. Joohyouck Park, Researcher, Samsung Electronics, Suwon, Korea.

M.S. Students
  1. Nam-Jung Kang, Researcher, Samsung Electronics.
  2. Jungkyu K. Lee, Professor, Department of Chemistry, Kyungpook National University, Daegu, Korea.
  3. Yong-Won Lee, College of Law, Korea University.
  4. Ganghyuk Jung, School of Medicine, Kyung Hee University.
  5. Sang-min Cho, Researcher, STX Corporation.
  6. Jae Young Park, Researcher, SK Innovation.
  7. Seung Pyo Jeong, Ph.D., University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA.
  8. Mi Rae Kim, School of Medicine.
  9. Jin Kyu Kim, Researcher, Cheil Industries.
  10. Baekhap Choi, Researcher, SK Hynix.
  11. HwaJin Yun, Researcher, LG Display.
  12. Ki Eun Bae, Researcher, SK Hynix.
  13. Hyelin Seo, Researcher, SK Hynix.
  14. Juan Kim, Researcher, Samsung Electronics.
  15. Sohee Choi, Researcher, LG Innotek.
  16. Won Il Kim, Researcher, SK Innovation.
  17. Yeji Kim, Researcher, Samsung Electronics.